The Sidney Prize and Other Awards

sidney prize

The Sidney Prize is an acclaimed award created to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to society. Established as an acknowledgement for those working hard towards their dreams, it has since become a worldwide symbol of prestige. Winners receive significant amounts of money that they can use towards future plans or promote scientific knowledge among the general population – particularly biology or medicine-.

Professor Sidney Cox had an immense impact on thousands of Dartmouth students both inside and outside his classes, so to commemorate him the Sidney Prize was established to recognize undergraduate writing that best meets his high standards of originality and integrity. Sophia Jactel from Art History won this year’s prize with her paper entitled ‘Domesticity and Diversions: Josef Israels’s Smoker as a Symbol of Peasant Culture and Home in Nineteenth-Century Holland”.

This annual award, given at the National Association of Scholars national conference, recognizes outstanding scholarship that has made a meaningful contribution to understanding humanity, such as research focusing on relationships among social, economic, political and environmental systems. It was named in memory of Sir Sidney Smith (deceased), whose immense efforts advanced scholarship in this area.

The American Institute of Physics is delighted to announce Sidney Perkowitz as the 2023 recipient of the Andrew Gemant Memorial Prize, awarded annually to physicists who have made outstanding contributions to cultural, artistic, or humanistic aspects of physics through publications, papers, lectures or works that connect art, media and literature with physics. Sidney Perkowitz is recognized as this year’s recipient due to his tireless efforts at connecting physics with art and humanities – whether through books like his best seller “Particle” as well as frequent media appearances as both speaker and media personality – his efforts despite bestselling book sales!

The Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize is an annual competition open to all Overland readers and subscribers, judged blind. Winner of this prize receives a cash prize of $5,0000 as well as two runners-up awards; Overland will publish the winning entry in its Summer 2023 issue. Our judges for 2019’s competition were Laura Elvery, Paige Clark and Michael Winkler.

The Sidney Hillman Foundation honors journalists, writers, and public figures who use investigative journalism and policy advocacy for the common good. SEIU was established in 1950 in honor of Sidney Hillman, founder and first President of Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America – an early precursor of Workers United SEIU. Hillman Foundation exists to recognize and reward those who strive for excellence in their professional lives, promote social justice and further humanity. Each month the foundation selects one winning submission based on merit. Submissions may come from any source – be they American magazines, newspapers, blogs or online publications; any genre; and from any area of inquiry. The Hillman Foundation Selection Committee consists of esteemed scholars from across the nation.